Wongan Hills District High School is focused on improving your child's academic and social and emotional outcomes by ensuring that they have access to the most effectively implemented instructional and behavioural practices and interventions possible.  We aim to develop a culture that encourages and supports everyone to perform at their best.

Students in Year 7 -10 complete subjects from the learning areas outlined in the Western Australian Curriculum.
These are: The Arts, English, Health & Physical Education, Mathematics, Science, Humanities and Social Sciences and Design and Technologies. Students will also complete an elective per semester as well as 2 hours of either Cadets or School Sustaining Projects (SSP).


Below you will find the typical timetable structure.

English 4 hours
Health & Physical Education 3 hours 
Mathematics 4 hours
Science 3 hours 
Humanities and Social Sciences 3 hours 

Design and Technologies (either Home Economics or Design and Technology) 2 hours

The Arts 2 hours

Digital Technologies 1 hour

Elective 2 hours

Cadets/SSP 2 hours
TOTAL: 25 hours and 40 minutes


These are the minimum requirements for students to receive a Western Australian Certificate of Education (WACE). You and your child will have the opportunity to discuss the best options for your child based on their needs when the time arises.

Breadth and depth requirement

  • Completion of a minimum of 20 units or the equivalent. This requirement must include at least:
    • a minimum of 10 Year 12 units, or the equivalent
    • four units from an English learning area course, post-Year 10, including at least one pair of Year 12 units from an English learning area course
    • one pair of Year 12 units from each of List A (arts/languages/social sciences) and List B (mathematics/science/technology).

Achievement standard requirement

  • Achievement of at least 14 C grades or higher (or the equivalent) in Year 11 and 12 units, including at least six C grades, or equivalents, in Year 12.
  • Completion of at least four Year 12 ATAR courses or of a Certificate II (or higher) VET qualification.

Literacy and numeracy standard

  • Demonstration of the minimum standard of literacy and numeracy.

© 2021 Wongan Hills District High School Powered by Updat-ed